A love set pendulous

Having had a really successful day writing I’ve decided to share a small excerpt of my new book with you all. I’m hoping it will be available to buy on Amazon by the end of the month. No doubt there’ll be a release date announced closer to the time!

*************

And a voice said in mastery, while I strove, —
‘Guess now who holds thee?’ — ‘Death,’ I said. But, there,
The silver answer rang, — ‘Not Death, but Love.’
(Elizabeth Barrett Browning – 1806 – 1861
Sonnets from the Portuguese)

********

He took her hand and kissed the knuckle above the ring. “It suits you.”

“The ring or the slavery it represents?” Her smile was twisted with a touch of bitterness.

“The possession.” He drew her to him and gentled the frown on her face with kisses. “I wish I could mark you all over. Possession suits you.”

Her traitorous libido was ready to grovel at his feet but her pride and self possession stopped her knees from wobbling. “I have no desire to be marked Tristan.”

“Now that you are mine your desires are irrelevant.” He whispered. “I own you Oceana. You are mine to do with as I please.”

“But you will take my desires into account anyway.” She shivered involuntarily as his breath caressed her neck.

“If you please me.” She gasped as his fangs snicked out and he grazed them lightly over her skin.

“You bit me even though I pleased you.” She pointed out breathlessly.

“That’s because I know your desires better than you do.”

The sheer arrogance of him took her breath away. “I have no desire to be marked.” She repeated absently as he scooped strong hands behind her thighs and lifted her jean-clad legs around him.

“You lie.” He pressed her back against a glass-fronted cabinet that displayed a staggeringly valuable piece of art. “I want to mark you and it turns you on.”

“Not in here Tristan, please.” The cold glass against her neck had shocked her out of the haze he induced. “Something could get damaged.”

“If I ordered you never to wear jeans again how many times would I have to punish you before you acceded?” He ignored her plea and wrestled frustratedly with the button of her jeans.

“Tristan stop, we can do this at the house.” Please don’t allow this to interfere with the calm of my last sanctuary she thought inwardly. She loved her time in here, marvelling at the antiquities, and didn’t want it marred with memories of their intimacies.

“I want you here. Now.” His voice was rough with need and she sighed. She knew he’d been alone for a long time but they weren’t long out of bed.

“Tristan I can’t keep up with you.” She curled her hands in his lustrous hair and tugged his head back so she could look at him. “I’m a human. We’re fragile. I don’t heal instantly. If you want me again I’m going to be sore afterwards.”

“I could fix that.” With a filthy grin he caught her wrist and brought her hand around to his face so he could suck her finger between his lips.

“Oh.” She gasped as his tongue swirled around the pad of her finger and closed her eyes, briefly losing herself to the moment.

“Bargain with me.” He murmured, letting her finger slide from his mouth as he rocked his hips slightly in a way that tipped her off the edge into the abyss.

“I can’t think straight.” She whispered back, eyes still closed.

“You have five seconds to come up with something I want enough to let you go for now.” He was amused. The bastard. “Five…four…three…two…”

********

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

