The forging of destiny

Yeah okay, I know, it’s a melodramatic title for a blog post but it’s been a melodramatic week!

A couple of days ago my mum told me how very lucky I am that people love me very much. She was referring to peeps that have married into the family. At the time I agreed. I adore my step-parents wholeheartedly and unconditionally. Later though, I mused quietly to myself that it’s not really luck. It’s just trying to be a decent person. As you know, I’m a big fan of paying it forward. I guess sometimes I forget about paying it back. It costs nothing to be warm, caring and polite, but the rewards are usually far greater than you can imagine. If I was a total brat, rude and stroppy, I very much doubt my stepdad would have spent half an hour in the torrential rain this evening trying to replace the blown bulbs in my car. Give a little, gain a lot. Love is exponential. It seems to grow as it cycles around.

I went to see Brave a couple of weeks or so ago. I loved it. It was very funny and well done. I loved the music too, but what really struck me was the message behind it. We all have the power to choose our own destiny. I know I’ve talked before about chasing dreams because life is too short. It’s a theme that occurs often in my books and it’s a lesson I learned in a manner that was too harsh to ignore.

The path we walk through this life is full of twists and turns. Sometimes we don’t know if its the path that’s directing our feet, or if our feet are picking out a path amidst the flowers. Either way, we still have the choice to follow or deviate from where our feet are taking us. What has occurred to me this week is that sprinkling a little joy and fairy dust behind you, wherever you may go, means you don’t have to walk that path alone.

This week, for one reason or another, one of my books was downloaded more than 10,000 times. It’s a staggering number for a total unknown like me. The enormity of it finally sank in when I tried to picture in my head just how many people that actually is. I lay in bed shaking for an hour or so, having a total crisis of confidence. Then I got a text from an old friend. A short time later I had a text from another friend. Before I knew it, I was laughing outright and my fear was forgotten. THAT’S the joy of paying it back. I don’t ever need to doubt that the people I love totally have my back. I’m lucky, I know that, but it’s also 100% reciprocated.

It’s the people in my heart that keep my feet on the ground when I have my hopes set on the sky.

So. In all that you do, everywhere you go, my thought for the day is this: pay it forward and pay it back because, when your time comes to forge your destiny and chase the big one, sometimes you need a little help to steady you.

2 thoughts on “The forging of destiny

Leave a Reply

