Review – The Angel by Tiffany Reisz

This review is for The Angel, second book in The Original Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0263905772/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title

4* – convergence and divergence

I was of two minds whether to buy this book. The first one was so powerful I wasn’t sure my sanity could cope with a rerun!! After reading several of the reviews on Amazon and speaking to various friends who had read it, I decided to download it. I’m glad I did.

The story follows on from a year after the events of The Siren and we return to Nora and the various men that orbit around her. She is happy with Soren and although she has given up her activities as a dominatrix, she’s found her place in life. She’s content, although she misses Wesley desperately.

We are introduced in this book to Suzanne, a journalist with a tip that not all may be as pure as it appears in Soren’s parish. With a background that gives her extra reason to hate the church, she’s determined to ferret out what’s going on beneath the surface. As a result, Soren sends the notoriously undiplomatic Nora and Michael, his young submissive, away for the summer.

The book is written in a very different style to the first book and although it was easier to read, I didn’t find it as fascinating or as thought provoking as The Siren. Although it was a cleverly woven story, it didn’t have the depth that the first book had. It lacked some of the magic, some of the raw power that the first book had.

While it made it a much easier read, I finished it with the peculiar feeling that it was more of an appendix to book 1 than an actual novel in its own right. I know that sounds weird, but book one is a big event. It’s the central anti-love story and it’s so cleverly written that it totally sucks you in. Book 2 has so much history in it that you almost feel like the point of it is to explain to you how everyone ended up where they were at the start of book 1 and to tie up the loose ends about where everyone ended up after book 1. It’s like ancillary documentation to The Siren rather than a story in its own right. It’s the tale of the characters’ convergence on and divergence from The Siren.

That said, I really enjoyed it. I liked learning about how Soren came to be the way that he is. I like Michael’s character and I adored Griffin. Such a cheeky chappie, I laughed out loud a couple of times at his antics. I thought the twists at the end were good too.

I will agree with other reviewers who were a little shocked at the blood play. Although it didn’t bother me at all, I feel readers should be forewarned of the content.

Overall it was a good book and I’ll be getting The Prince (book 3).

It scored a 1/5 on tears and a 5/5 on chillis.

Leave a Reply

