Give blood!!

I went to donate again today. I know it’s something I keep harping on about, but I really would encourage everyone to do it if they can. I was chatting to the nurse who was plugging me in and she said that only 5% of the population actually donate. That’s a ridiculously low figure. If you’re fit and healthy and don’t have a morbid fear of needles, you should be going in to give.

Anyway, I took advantage of the new appointments system they have here rather than turning up to one of the monthly drop in sessions. Can’t recommend it highly enough for those that feel like they don’t have time to wait around for the standard sessions. I was in and out in 35 minutes, including biscuit time.

What was really amazing though was that I got to see all the platelet machines hooked up. I was asking the nurse about them and she was explaining what a commitment it was, that the people who donate platelets go in every 4 – 6 weeks for 90 minutes. Again, I know I go on about the every day unsung heroes, but that’s an amazing commitment for the average person to make. It’s not much fun, it takes a long time and they have to keep going back for more. I thought donating once every three months made me a fairly decent human being but I have a long way to go.

Talking of long ways, one of the nicest things about today was that I made a new friend. I got chatting to the guy on the bed next to mine who was in giving his 37th pint. He’s been donating for 10 years on a regular basis. It was really inspiring. We left together and because we both went to make new appointments, they just booked them for 12 weeks today, so we’ll be meeting up every 3 months to donate together 🙂

Leave a Reply

