Author interview with Ivory Quinn

So we’re here because Redemption: Darkness Falls is live!! It went up a week or more ago and the blog tour started yesterday. If you haven’t downloaded your copy yet, see the details below….

RDF

Book Description:

Cause you are my invisible strings
You’re the ties that bind me whole
You’re all that keeps me together
You’re the dark matter of my soul

It’s been six long months since Gabriel left and Noelle’s nightmares are swallowing her whole.

In a last ditch attempt to save her sanity, Jax takes her to Cal Henway, the infamous and enigmatic Master of Kink, to see if he can slay her demons. He, in turn, entrusts her care to Master Blue – Dom, loveable rogue and practical joker.

Blue knows the only way to silence her demons is to sate them, but will his journey through the darkest parts of her desires save her, or break her beyond all repair?

Excerpt:

They drove to the outskirts of town to the industrial park, where Blue had a contact that imported custom items in latex and leather. He measured her up quickly enough, but when it came to actually choosing clothes, Noelle felt like she’d landed completely on another planet.
“I have no idea what I’m even looking at.” She held up something very black and shiny.
“They’re latex stockings.” Blue hid a smile. “You’d look really sexy in these, but I don’t know that latex is your thing. You’re earthier…you need leather.”
“Fine. You pick whatever you think I need and I’ll just run my card past the machine.” She gave up and he sighed.
“You need to try this stuff on.”
“Fine.” She said grouchily. “Pick it and I’ll try it on and then I’ll run my card past the machine.”
“You’re so cute when you’re grumpy.” Grinning, he handed her a couple of coat hangers. “If you don’t start smiling soon, I’m going to start licking you. Fair warning.”
“What is it with you and licking??” She narrowed her eyes. “I’m wearing perfume. I’ll taste horrible.”
“I’m sure I can find somewhere to lick that doesn’t have perfume on it.” He glanced up from the rack of clothes he was perusing. “You can’t seriously tell me you sprayed perfume on that sweet pussy of yours?”
“Blue!” Scandalised, her cheeks flushed scarlet. “You’re not coming anywhere near it in public.”
“Then you’d better start smiling, Little One, because if you don’t I’m going to have my face in it, whether we’re in public or not.”
“You wouldn’t!” Her jaw actually dropped as he gave a casual shrug.
“Sure I would.” He grinned. “You want to try me?”
“You can’t just order me to smile!” She glared at him, backing away.
“I repeat, do you want to try me?” He stalked towards her and she fled in the direction of the changing rooms. As if that was going to stop him. Shaking his head, Blue gave the proprietor a questioning look and the man shrugged.
“Just don’t make a mess.”
Blue’s smile was so wide he looked like the Cheshire Cat. “Trust me, I don’t need to make a mess to make a woman smile.”

Buy Links:

Amazon.co.uk: http://amzn.to/15iL44N
Amazon.com: http://amzn.to/17X9hf3

Redemption Goodreads Link:
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17787637-redemption?ac=1

Facebook Blog Tour Party:

We are having a blog tour party on facebook. It will be a place for fans to interact with Ivory during the tour. We will also be sharing some deleted scenes on there.
Here is the link: https://www.facebook.com/events/501406356610083/

Blog tour schedule link: http://www.theromancecover.com/2013/05/blog-tour-schedule-redemption-darkness.html

Phew, so now that all of the admin bits and bobs are out of the way, I’d like to welcome Ivory for some questions. I know she shares the blog, but this time it’s me that gets to ask the questions 😉

Rivka: So, how’s the book going?
Ivory: It’s doing really well! People are responding brilliantly to it and I think all the reviews on Amazon so far have been 5* which is really humbling and emotional.

Rivka: That’s fantastic! So tell us a little bit about it. It’s a very different book to Obsession: Darkness Falls.
Ivory: Not as different as I thought it would be, in all honesty. Redemption was always going to be about the ascent out of the darkness, about Noelle’s recovery. Before I started, I thought it would be a message of hope and of joy, but it was a lot darker than I thought it would be. I wrote a post on it somewhere…

Rivka: Yeah, it’s here: https://alylonna.wordpress.com/2013/06/18/on-redemption/ . I know it was emotional to write. There were a lot of nights we sat with hot drinks and ice cream and cried it through together. Has writing it changed you, do you think?
Ivory: Definitely. And probably even in ways that I’m not going to realise for a long time to come. It’s just…I can’t even put it into words. It’s been a journey. A journey with a lot of ice cream.

Rivka: You’ve never made any secret about the fact that Noelle is based on you. In this book we see her evolve into something that’s almost dominatrix. Is that you? Are you a dominatrix?
Ivory: Come on, Rivka. You know a true lady doesn’t kiss and tell…

Rivka: I’ll take that as a yes then. Okaaaay. *clears throat*. So, Master Blue. He’s a character that’s sparked a rather strong response. Do you want to tell us about him? Is he based on anyone?
Ivory: It’s weird…when I was writing Blue, he wasn’t based on anyone in particular. To write him, I tapped into my own dominant tendencies and switched off my brain-to-page filter. All those outrageous and funny things I’d usually think but not say out loud somehow ended up on the page. And then, when the book was finished and the ARCs had gone out, I ended up meeting someone who regularly comes out with Blue-isms, totally unprovoked. It’s like finding a retrospective Blue character base lol. I keep getting the giggles around him, which is a really nice thing. I suppose it was meant to be somehow…I had my Gabriel, I had my Jax and my Sean…now I’ve found my Blue.

Rivka: So what’s next for Ivory Quinn? The original plan was for 2 books in the Darkness Falls world. Where do you go from here?
Ivory: Good question! It was supposed to just be Obsession and Redemption. Even up to a couple of weeks ago, that’s all it was going to be. Then the reviews started coming in and the groupies started getting on my case lol. Apparently there are some other characters that need their story to be told. Noelle is done, for now, but there are others that apparently should have a voice. So I’m going to take a month or so off and then dive back into the Darkness Falls world. I’m not sure which character to go with first, though. My current thinking is Raze, the Darkness Falls drummer, but that might change. Although I have a working title in mind for his book and the shadows of a plot…so we’ll see.

Rivka: You seem to have an inability to write happy endings. Is that something that we’re going to see in your other books?
Ivory: That’s not fair! I thought Redemption had a happy ending! It was an ending of infinite possibility! It was a JOYFUL thing! But I sort of see where you’re coming from. The thing is, Noelle is/was me. I haven’t died yet and I haven’t had my happy ending, but I’m in a really good place. I don’t think life ever really has happy endings. People end up in happy situations, but they’re always subject to change. I don’t think writing realism in a fictional way is such a bad thing. I think the minute I stop writing about things I’ve actually experienced is when I’ll lose that really special connection with my readers.

Rivka: This has been a crazy few months for you…ODF was only published in April and now here we are, four and a half months later, with the second book out. Has there been a stand out moment for you? Something really special?
Ivory: I think Redemption hitting the bestseller lists on release day was insane, but actually it’s the little things that really bring it home to me. Some of the messages I’ve had about the books have been so touching. Darkness Falls has really connected with people and it’s amazing that they feel they can open up to me about it. I love getting those messages. Especially with Redemption, I’ve had a couple of really special messages from people who have had their lives totally shaken up by the book.

Rivka: I’ve seen in the various discussions online that Gabriel is still a very controversial character. Redemption has really divided your fans when it comes to him. Do you have anything to say about that?
Ivory: Again, I’ve made no secret of my feelings towards Gabriel’s character and how bewildered by the public response to him I was when Obsession was released. It’s been interesting seeing the fallout from Redemption. In a way I feel almost validated. Domestic abuse has always been a grey area to write about realistically. I haven’t really talked much about my experiences in detail to anyone other than the people really close to me. There’s a really strong perception that people wouldn’t view what I went through as abuse, in the same way as they don’t view what Gabriel did to Noelle as abuse. It was actually said to me that rough sex obtained under duress wasn’t abuse if the two people involved were in a relationship(!!!). There’s a massive public misconception that all domestic abuse involves battered women, when that’s just patently not true. It can be emotional, isolatory, sexual or any one of a dozen other kinds. When the manipulation and damage is that slow and insidious and clever, it’s not easy to spot. Nine times out of ten, you come out of the other end with no idea what the hell just happened to you. It’s been fascinating to see/listen to people whose perceptions are changing now that they’re seeing Gabriel in a different light.

Rivka: Well that’s kind of a serious note to end on, so I’ll ask if there’s anything else you’d like to say?
Ivory: Thank yous, mostly. I’d like to thank everyone that’s been there and helped me with this journey, you especially. Also Donna, Willow, Kerry and the others at The Romance Cover who have championed Darkness Falls for the last few months. Kisses to them all. Very special thank you to Cloressa Orr for starting up the Darkness Falls Groupies Facebook group and for generally being amazing, despite all the stuff going on in her own life. Also to Yvonne and Cindy for being the group admins. You guys totally rock my world. I’d like to thank Luke for making me another great cover too. Other than that, I just want to tell everyone to be happy. Live, laugh, love…life is too short not to grab it by the balls and make it do what you want it to. Oh, and coconut oil makes really good lube. You’d better leave that in. I have cuffs…

Rivka: Fine, it’s totally inappropriate but I’ll leave it in. *sigh*. Thank you for answering my questions so patiently.

3 thoughts on “Author interview with Ivory Quinn

  1. Rivka you better run cause she is sizing you up for those cuffs and she brought coconut oil… Hashanah. Get her Ivory! 😉

Leave a Reply

