Book review – Marked (Eternal Guardians)

This is a book review for Marked (Eternal Guardians #1) by Elisabeth Naughton, available here:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B006LACFE2/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title

(Currently free to download)

4* – refreshingly different look at this genre

I downloaded this for free and was glad I had. It was a refreshingly different read from a lot of the PNR I’ve been reading lately, yet still somehow comfortingly similar.

Casey is working two jobs to make ends meet and is totally unprepared for a giant of a man to come crashing into her life like a demolition ball, burning down her shop and whisking her away. Even less is she prepared to totally fall for him.

Add in the necessary angst of a prophecy and forbidden love and secrets and betrayals, and suddenly you have a rip roaring ride full of feels.

I think what I liked most about it was that it was a different set of mythology. It’s based around the Greek legends – the Argonauts and the Greek gods. Many of the characters were familiar yet different, like Hades and Persephone. There was not a vampire in sight or even a were creature. It was different and familiar and original in so many ways. I adored the old Greek and Roman myths and legends growing up, so this was a bonus for me.

It had touches of J R Ward here and there – a brotherhood of big, troubled men trying to protect their race against difficult odds. If you love the Black Dagger Brotherhood books, you’ll enjoy this. There’s less swearing and sex, to be sure, but it’s still very reminiscent of those books.

I thought the characterisations were good. I liked Casey – she was sweet but sassy. Theron was suitably torn between his duty and his heart. The additional characters were interesting. I didn’t think much of Isadora at first but she came into her own later in the book. Hades and Persephone made me smile with their particular brand of dark love.

That’s something else this book does well – there are touches of humour throughout that made me smile. The fact that they keep getting interrupted every time they’re about to get busy was funny. There are moments where characters are sassing each other that me me chuckle too.

I haven’t given it five stars because there were a few issues. Although the editing was really good overall, I did spot a couple of plot holes, like how at the end of the book she says you can’t teleport inside buildings, but earlier in the book someone teleported into Isadora’s bedroom. At the beginning of the book I had a couple of moments of confusion. It was clear that the author knows the world she has created so well that she forgets that not everyone else does. I persisted and a lot of things became clear later on, but it was a little confusing at first.

The only other thing I’d say is that part of my enjoyment was from knowing the characters going in. If you don’t have any knowledge at all of the old myths and legends, this will make the book a little difficult.

That said, it was really enjoyable and I’ll definitely read the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

