What’s doin…

It’s been a few weeks since I last blogged! I have good reasons, including being out of the country. So, what’s been happening recently?

The Writing Project Vlogs have been going well and I’ve planned the next one to be recorded, hopefully in the next couple of days. You can see it either on my Pinterest page or on my Youtube channel. I’m thinking of doing more with my YouTube channel…maybe a Q&A video. I’ll post it up on the Facebook page and see if anyone has questions they’re just dying to know the answers to.

As I mentioned above, I’ve been on my holibobs!! It may have come as a shock to a lot of you and the reason for that is that the whole trip was a big secret. We flew out to surprise one of my oldest friends in a trip of a lifetime organised by her husband. We spent a week in Florida, doing the theme parks and catching sun by the pool, then on to 2 days in the Bay Area, where we went to the church of eight wheels and ate vegan food like proper hipsters, and we finally finished up in Vegas where we caught a show and explored downtown (which was amazing!!). I ate too much, laughed too much and loved too much. And when I say ‘loved’ I mean the country. As much as I adore Scotland with my whole heart, I could totally emigrate. The people, the food, the sunshine, the fun…it’s a whole different lifestyle that I’d love to try.

Unfortunately I’ve been ill since I got back. The first week was jetlag hell and then I caught some sort of bug which has laid me low in the worst kind of way. Starting to pick back up though, so I’m hoping I’ll be right as rain by Monday.

Writing wise, and this is something I’ll vlog about when I’m 100% better, I’ve had to suspend Original Sin for a number of reasons. One of those reasons is that we’ve just had a #pitmad and I had a favourite from an agent so I need to take a couple of weeks out to go back over the manuscript with a fine tooth comb just to be sure it’s as polished as I can get it on the off-chance that she says she wants to see a full MS. Since I was querying one agent, I’ve also sent it to another, so please keep your fingers crossed for me!

Because of that, it’s looking like I’ll probably spend the July #CampNaNoWriMo finishing Coven, the final book of the Last Ancient trilogy. I know that’ll make a lot of you happy and you’ve been waiting a while for it. I’ll keep you updated as to progress as we go along and I’ve created a new storyboard for it on Pinterest if you want a quick snapshot of what I’m thinking as I write.

It’s probably the most frustrating thing about being in my shoes right now – I have two books I know you’re going to love that I can’t give you because they’re still going through the query process. All I can ask is that you’re patient and that you understand I haven’t stopped writing. I’m just trying to work towards being able to write more. Traditional publishing will hopefully open up doors that Indie publishing has so far kept closed to me, namely being able to write full time.

Craft wise I’ve been involved in two secret projects, which are secret because they’re birthday presents that haven’t gone out yet. The big one is for my mum, codenamed #Project60, and I can’t wait to post pictures of it. It’s probably the most detailed gift I’ve ever made for anyone. Apart from the book I wrote for Lizzie one year, it’s also the longest time it’s ever taken me to get a project together. In terms of future crafting, I’ll be buckling down to get all the flowers made for my friend’s wedding in September. She wants one for each guest at the meal and her bouquet as well, so it’s a sizeable project which I’m excited to be digging into.

In terms of reviews, there’ll be one coming up soon for the Serial podcast. I just need to listen to the last episode before I can get my thoughts in order. What I will say right now is that it’s a truly fascinating listen. If you have a few hours free, I’d heartily recommend it!

I think that’s it for now so I’ll stop rambling and hopefully you’ll notice normal service resuming over the next few days 🙂

Leave a Reply

