A round up of the news

I had a lot of news so I thought I’d just put it all in one blog post πŸ™‚

The biggest news is that I’ll be publishing a new book soon! Saltire Rising, my recent MS, will be published either in late July or early August. I’m still in the final editing of it and the cover art is in the process of being commissioned, but hopefully I’ll get it up soon with a pre-order and a date and then the excitement can start building πŸ™‚ Here’s the blurb for it:

In the modern day a shipping magnate calls in an investigation team to find out why containers are going missing from his ships.
In 1899 a young mother is sent to the colonies with nothing in her possession except two young children and a quantity of ancient Spanish gold.
In 1745 Charles Stuart lands at Glenfinnan in Scotland to embark on the doomed Jacobite rebellion that would cost him his last shot at the British throne.

The thread that links these events is a twisted one of betrayal, broken hearts and politics. With a civil war that could tear a country, already in turmoil over the Scottish Independence Referendum, in two, there’s everything to play for and everything to lose.

The second piece of news is that I’m planning to do a multicultural month here on the blog through August. I haven’t worked out all the bits and pieces yet, but the idea I’m planning is to do a review or interview or interest piece every day for that month with authors/agents/editors of diverse books. Going to stick to authors/characters of colour for that month and then plan a rainbow month early next year (LGBTQ) πŸ™‚ I’ll be posting bits and bobs about the schedule as I get them planned πŸ™‚ Watch this space!

With next month being July, I’ll be taking part in Camp NaNoWriMo. Hopefully that means I’ll have another book finished for you soon. I’ll have to get it out in October sometime before official NaNoWriMo πŸ™‚ What that means, unfortunately, is that while I’m writing frantically to keep my wordcount up and planning the big month in August, you may notice that it’s a little quiet on the blog here through the next month or so. I’m still alive, there’s nothing happened to me. I’m just busy!

I’ve still been vlogging about my Writing Process Project. You can catch up with any you might have missed on the playlist here:

Finally, I have a really interesting interview with the lovely author Jane Riddell to share with you over the next day or two. I just need to format it and then I’ll upload it and share links everywhere.

Leave a Reply

